So just a major apology, folks; when I was editing Monday’s articles, I was only putting up the easiest essays – mainly because it was already 5:30 on Thursday night, I was leaving the next day at 7:00 a.m. for Grand Prix: Philadelphia and wouldn’t be back until Monday… And I had the decklists still to enter, a chapter to write for my freelance project, and I still hadn’t packed. Yikes.
Everything had to be up Monday, and it had to be up now.
But still, that was no excuse for this completely false tripe that I let slide:
“Plus it’s one of the few decks in standard that can manage a turn one kill (if you’re going second). You should know the hand required, Mountain, Rites of Initiation, 3 Rootwalla & Anger + 2 other cards.”
Actually, I know that I did not see this paragraph when I was editing, or I would have caught it – not only was I one of the people who emailed Alex Shvartsman when he got it wrong, but I entered the damn question into the”Ask The Judge” database myself. But I must have been skipping paragraphs, because I know that I never, ever allow ampersands on StarCity – nor do I allow straight”+” signs except in rare circumstances, nor do I allow shorthand names now that we can link all cards to Basking Rootwalla.
So I was rushing the edit job thanks to the fact that I needed content for Monday… And I missed a major error by an author big time. Big time. In the kind of error that Team Academy mocks Brainburst about.
I could say that I was pressed for time, but that’s no excuse. I could blame the author, but as the editor I’m the final backstop for checking the damned content. I’m sorry, and it shouldn’t happen again.
Also, Geordie”I Won A PTQ, And Now I No Longer Have A Need To Write” Tait pointed this out to me:
“No offense, but your match coverage was riddled with mistakes. ‘Mandel’s morph turned out to be a Tephraderm?’ It doesn’t have morph. Nameless One isn’t a bomb in the B/W mirror- that’s Doubtless One. You still said Nameless One about ten times anyhow. Also, you made mention of a Wirewood Savage blocking a Spined Basher with Frightshroud Courier embracing it. That’s not possible, since Frightshroud Courier gives fear.”
As for the last sentence, I believe that was a genuine error that nobody caught at the time – as per my article”How The Pros F**k Up.” (Though Lord knows it’s possible I might have genuinely pooched that – try writing down the cards as fast as people play them, in Limited, when you don’t know all the cards in their deck. It’s all you can do to keep the words on the page. Still, I’m pretty sure I would have caught that.)
The first two, though? Bad plays on my part, misremembering what happened. I have no excuse, and I hope Wizards erratas the coverage – still, the essential plays of each match I covered were, in fact, correct. I may have missed a few card names, but the critical plays were intact.
Ah well. Ya win some, ya lose some. Today’s content is very light, since I’ve just gotten in, I’m exhausted, and I have two hours to get it all fixed… But tomorrow, we’ll be up and running with a host of helpful States articles. So forgive me?