Ask Ken, 05/17/2004

Would you ever choose to draw in Mirrodin-Darksteel draft?

It’s a beautiful summer day here at Ask Ken. I’m your host, Ken Krouner. That icy chill on my shoulder can mean one of only two things. Either the Death has finally caught up with me or it’s time for a little Reader Mail! Hey! That’s right kids, don’t fear the Reaper.

Today’s question comes to us from Rusty Shackleford. The Rust Golem writes:

Hey Ken,

On Friday, Mike Flores wrote a very good article on tempo.  Speaking of tempo, would you ever want to go second in MMD draft?  If the rules offered 2 cards to go second instead of 1, would that be the best choice, and is there a number of cards that would make you want to go second in standard right now?

Have a good weekend,

Rusty Shakleford

Well Rustspore Ram, I don’t think it is ever the right play to draw first. In fact, the last time I remember it even being reasonable was in certain matchups in OTJ Sealed Deck. Board development is everything these days, and with powerful Affinity and White beatdown starts, even the control decks can’t afford to go second.

As for your second question, Rust Elemental, I think you would always go second when given an additional card. Consider how much of an advantage it is when you are going second and your opponent mulligans. Two additional cards is a much bigger deficit to overcome.

For your third question, I am not certain, but I believe two extra cards in Standard would be enough to make me go second there as well, but I could imagine times I would go first.

Hope this answers your question, Rust.

The source on tempo issues,


Hope you enjoyed this brief glimpse into the card/tempo trade off. Join us for much more fun throughout the week. G’night Everybody!

[email protected]