fbpx

Historic Arena Open Set For This Weekend

Check out the updates and new events coming soon to MTG Arena

Svyelun of Sea and Sky illustrated by Seb McKinnon

Wizards of the Coast (WotC) has provided a series of important details about updates for MTG Arena.

Historic Arena Open This Weekend

The Arena Open returns this weekend starting on September 11 featuring the Historic format fresh off the release of Jumpstart: Historic Horizons. Entry fee is 20,000 gold or 4,000 gems and players can enter as many times as they wish. Day 1 entry period starts at 9 AM ET/6 AM PT on September 11 and the signup period ends at 6 AM ET/3 AM PT on September 12. Players unlock a Svyelun of Sea and Sky card sleeve as an entry reward.

Players competing in the Best-of-One flight need to reach seven wins before three losses to reach Day 2, while players in Best-of-Three need to hit four wins before one loss to move on to the second day of competition. All prizes will be awarded as gems until reaching six or seven wins on Day 2, with cash prizes of $1,000 and $2,000 going to the top players. Prizes for records on Day 1 break down like this:

Best-of-OneBest-of-Three
7 wins: 2,000 gems, Make Day 24 wins: 5,000 gems, Make Day 2
6 wins: 1,600 gems3 wins: 5,000 gems
5 wins: 1,200 gems2 wins: 2,500 gems
4 wins: 800 gems1 win: 1,000 gems
3 wins: 400 gems0 wins: no rewards
0-2 wins: no rewards

Day 2 entry period is 9-11AM ET/6-8 AM PT September 12 and sign up period ends at 11 AM ET/8 AM PT. Day 2 will be Best-Of-Three Historic.

WinsRewards
7 wins$2,000
6 wins$1,000
5 wins20,000 gems
4 wins10,000 gems
3 wins6,000 gems
2 wins4,000 gems
1 win2,000 gems
0 winsno rewards

All details about the Arena Open can be found here.

Gift Code And XP Codes Offered

Due to the amount of downtime and bugs MTG Arena has been through over the past couple weeks, the MTG Arena team has offered two codes for players. The first code “PARCELMYR” awards some ICRs, gold, XP, and more while the code “SCALEUP” awards 3,000 XP to help complete the mastery pass. Players can enter the codes in the store in the client.

Upcoming Events

Midweek Magic

  • September 7-9: Historic Artisan
  • September 14-16: Standard Singleton

Quick Draft

  • August 27-September 17: Adventures in the Forgotten Realms
  • September 17-October 1: Strixhaven: School of Mages
  • October 1-15: Innistrad: Midnight Hunt

Other Events

  • August 26-October 14: Jumpstart: Historic Horizons
  • September 3-16: Tinkerer’s Cube
  • September 11: Arena Open Day 1 (Historic)
  • September 12: Arena Open Day 2 (Historic)

Read the original article from WotC.