fbpx

Alchemy Arena Open Set For January 15-16

Next Arena Open will use newest format on MTG Arena.

Forsaken Crossroads illustrated by Kasia ‘Kafis’ Zielinska

Wizards of the Coast (WotC) announced the next Arena Open is scheduled for the weekend of January 15-16 and will feature the Alchemy format.

As usual, Day 1 will offer the option to play Best-of-One or Best-of-Three and players can enter Day 1 as many times as they wish. Reaching seven wins before taking three losses in Best-of-One or four wins before one match loss in Best-of-Three qualifies a player for Day 2. The max prize has been increased from $2,000 to $2,500, though it requires an eighth win on Day 2, while the entry fee for Day 1 went up with a decrease in Day 1 prizes. All players who enter Day 1 receive the Undead Butler card sleeve.

Entry fee for Day 1 is now 25,000 gold or 5,000 gems (previously was 20,000 gold or 4,000 gems for Constructed Arena Opens) and players don’t receive any prizes on Day 1 unless they reach at least five wins in Best-of-One (previously awarded gems starting at three wins). The new structure has also removed the gems awarded for making Day 2, which used to be 2,000 for Best-of-One and 5,000 for Best-of-Three, and moved them to Day 2. The current Day 1 prizes can be seen below, followed by the previous Constructed Arena Open prizes.

Old Day 1 Prize Structure

Best-of-OneBest-of-Three
7 wins: 2,000 gems, Make Day 24 wins: 5,000 gems, Make Day 2
6 wins: 1,600 gems3 wins: 5,000 gems
5 wins: 1,200 gems2 wins: 2,500 gems
4 wins: 800 gems1 win: 1,000 gems
3 wins: 400 gems0 wins: no rewards
0-2 wins: no rewards

New Day 1 Prize Structure

Best-of-OneBest-of-Three
7 wins: Make Day 24 wins: Make Day 2
6 wins: 2,500 gems3 wins: 5,000 gems
5 wins: 1,000 gems2 wins: 3,000 gems
0-4 wins: no rewards1 win: 1,000 gems
0 wins: no rewards

Day 1 starts at 9 AM ET/6 AM PT on January 15 with signups ending at 6 AM ET/3 AM PT on January 16. Day 1 ends at 9 AM ET/6 AM PT on January 16.

Players who reach Day 2 must register to play between 9-11 AM ET/6-8 AM PT on January 16. No new matches will be paired after 8 PM ET/5 PM PT. Day 2 is Traditional Alchemy (Best-of-Three) and players play until they reach eight wins or two losses. Current Day 2 prizes can be seen below followed by the previous prize structure.

Old Day 2 Prize Structure

WinsRewards
7 wins$2,000
6 wins$1,000
5 wins20,000 gems
4 wins10,000 gems
3 wins6,000 gems
2 wins4,000 gems
1 win2,000 gems
0 winsno rewards

New Day 2 Prize Structure

WinsRewards
8 wins$2,500
7 wins$2,000
6 wins$1,000
5 wins25,000 gems
4 wins10,000 gems
3 wins7,500 gems
0-2 wins5,000 gems

Players can now win $2,500 for hitting eight wins and receive a Day 1 entry fee of 5,000 gems back for no wins on Day 2, but don’t get any additional prizes until they reach three wins. Seven wins still awards $2,000 and six wins awards $1,000.

All details about the Arena Open can be found here.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!